Fischer, Jenniges, Ryan win city council seats

The Custer City Council will welcome back two incumbents in July following last night’s elections.
In Ward I,  incumbent Jeannie Fischer had 49 votes to challenger Corey Virtue’s 46, putting her in position for another two-year term. The city did caution all city results were unofficial, as provisional ballots are not included in the tally. The votes will be canvassed by the city Monday.
In Ward II, Julie Jenniges will serve a one-year term after defeating current council member Bob Schilling. Jenniges received 28 votes, compared to 15 for Schilling.
In Ward III, incumbent Peg Ryan held off challenger Monica McGowan for a two-year term on the council by a 72-50 vote.
The Custer School District Board of Education will have one new face, as Sara Barrick won a two-year term on the board, as did current board member Larry Baker. Baker received 307 votes, while Barrick recieved 305. The third person on the ballot, Caralee Weber, received 263 votes. Two of the three candidates were guaranteed a seat on the board.
In Hermosa, incumbent Dan Holsworth held off challenger Marci Etherington for a three-year term on the Hermosa Town Board. Holsworth received 64 votes, compared to 41 for Etherington.
Finally, Dean Weekley will continue to serve on the Fairburn Town Board after defeating challenger Bradley Mikkelson for a three-year term. Weekley won by a count of 15-5.


User login